Syncing DBs &Recommended work flow for multiple developers

Hello I’m new to Kinsta ( but veteran developer)
My team is working on a client’s site,
Were running into issues keeping our data bases synced, and I’m wondering what the recommended protocol is for this, and if anyone in the community has worked out a clever solution

We are each have out own local version using DevKinsta, and pushing up to a Staging instance.
But if i make changes to the footer and push, then my co-worked makes changes to the header and pushes the header changes overwrite the footer changes.

We can export our own DBs and share them, but then we’re getting some duplications. In the menus etc. Moreover when we’re making multiple changes a day, exporting is time-consuming, and they diverge quickly.

What is the recommended workflow?

Moreover…Questions numbered to make threaded replies easier:

1. Is there a way to share one remote DB?
  2. Is there a way to make sure imports merge w/o duplicating?
  3. Is there a way to slave local DBs to the staging?
  4. is there a way to push local changes to stage w/o updating the DB (theme files only)

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Hi @sjds-frog, welcome to DevKinsta!

It’ll take some work, but there are definitely processes/tools you and your team could use. I would recommend looking into a Git workflow for your files: https://cadent.com/use-git-to-develop-a-wordpress-site-with-a-team-of-coders/

As for connecting everyone to the same remote database, yes that’s possible as well: TUTORIAL: Developing Locally on WordPress with Remote Database Over SSH – Technosailor.com

You can SSH into your Docker database image with docker exec -it devkinsta_db bash; you’ll likely need to apt update and then apt install <someeditor>; just keep in mind that your changes to the container’s settings would get overwritten every time the container is restarted.