Error 404 Page Not Found

Hi. I’m new to this. I’m moving my very simple static HTML and CSS code from iPage to Kinsta with a plan to cancel my iPage account to avoid being automatically overcharged this week again. I copied my code to Github and then connected my Github account to my Kinsta account. Using no Build Command, no Node Version, and no Publish Directory, it deployed fine with no error, but when I click on the link to my latest deployment I get the dreaded 404 Page Not Found error. I read about this error on the troubleshooting page but still I’m not smart enough to figure it out.

Hello there @RMVolleyball (Mary) :wave: and welcome to Kinsta Community!

That 404 error not found in Static Site hosting is usually means there’s no index.html file found in the site’s root folder.

Could you please confirm if you have the index.html file on your GitHub root folder (as you mentioned “no Publish Directory” I would assume you tried to deploy the Static Site from your GitHub repo’s root folder instead of from any sub-folder)?

In case your HTML files (and other static files) are stored in a subfolder in your GitHub repo, then in the Publish directory field, you would need to specify it with that same path/subfolder name - relative to the root of your repository.

I also just tried the same to test to re-deploy on my own Static Site site/account (with the index.html file stored in my GitHub repo’s root folder - no Build Command, no Node Version, and no Publish Directory) and I could deploy and access it just fine.

Best regards,
Agus

Hi Agus,