Switch to a remote/local database

I know that devkinsta will create it’s own instance of the database for us to work. But I want to switch to another database that is hosted locally on my machine (http://localhost/phpmyadmin)

Current: Devkinsta uses Adminer on http://127.0.0.1:15200/

I want to use the ones on mphpmyadmin http://127.0.0.1

Is there a way to do this? is wp-config.php and config.json need to be modified?

Hi again @Rosalito_Udtohan

I’ve never tried this before as DevKinsta already has provided that MySQL/MariaDB service which runs on the devkinsta_db container.

While technically we can altering the wp-config.php file with different DB name and host also user/password , but I’m not sure if that local WP site will then be manageable correctly through DevKinsta interface.

I would say not to alter the config.json file as it’s generated automatically by DevKinsta.

Perhaps you would like to give it a try by altering the following lines in your site’s wp-config.php file to something like these:

define( ‘DB_NAME’, ‘yourDBnamehere’ );

/** Database username */
define( ‘DB_USER’, ‘youDBuserhere’ );

/** Database password */
define( ‘DB_PASSWORD’, ‘yourDBpasswordhere’ );

/** Database hostname */
define( ‘DB_HOST’, ‘127.0.0.1’ );

then see if you can access your local site URL on your browser if it loads the contents from the database you have on your localhost machine (127.0.0.1) . If it’s not working, then you may want to stick with the previous DB settings (using the default one used in DevKinsta).

Best regards,
Agus

@Agus I’ve tested it and it functions properly. However, there’s a concern that DevKinsta may not accommodate this setup, which could lead to complications when attempting to push or deploy it to myKinsta Live with this kind of setup. What do you think? Maybe I can try and will let you know on Monday.