Can't install on Windows 11

Hi,

Same issue reported here: Installation of DevKinsta on Windows 11

But the above ticket hasn’t been properly solved.

Basically, I find it impossible to install the app on Windows 11, not even with command prompt (the solution suggested in the other ticket).

And there’s no problem with the UAC config, I’ve been using this Windows installation for 1,5 years now, and never had any issue with a software installation - except DevKinsta.

What I see when checking the Security tab in the file’s Properties, is that there are four unknown account specified for the file in the Groups/Users section - which is pretty suspicious, not for Windows only, for my eyes as well.

My guess is that the installation problem is connected to these unknown accounts.

FYKI: these unknown accounts can not be removed, and their access levels can not be edited - they’re completely unaccessible even by the system admin, making the file config even more suspicious, no offence.

Thanks for investigating this further…

Hi there @WPDev_Studio :wave: and welcome to Kinsta Community!

Thank you for reporting this case to us.

I’ve installed DevKinsta (also re-installed for couple of times and been using it for several months) both on my main laptop (Linux Ubuntu 22.04 O/S) and also on my 2 other spare mini PCs based on Windows 11 Pro O/S, and so far have never experienced any issues (nor got the error related to that UAC thing) when installing on Windows 11 machines :thinking:

1 of my mini PC has this Windows 11 Pro version installed:

Edition Windows 11 Pro
Version 22H2
Installed on ‎15/‎05/‎2023
OS build 22621.2283
Experience Windows Feature Experience Pack 1000.22662.1000.0

And as I could see when checking the security tab in the DevKinsta.exe file’s properties just now, I didn’t see any additional unknown accounts (only shows the SYSTEM, Administrators and my user account) - so not quite sure where did those “Account Unknown” come from on your Windows.